Twins Announce All-Metrodome Team

Thursday, July 30th, 2009 at 6:00 am

MINNEAPOLIS-ST. PAUL, Minn. – The Minnesota Twins, in conjunction with Wendy’s Restaurants, today announced that legends Kirby Puckett, Kent Hrbek and Frank Viola will join current Twins Joe Mauer, Joe Nathan and Justin Morneau on the All-Metrodome Team as part of the team’s ongoing celebration of the franchise’s 28th and final season playing in the Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome.

Voting for the Twins All-Metrodome Team was split into three phases, including the fans, the Upper Midwest media and a veteran’s committee made up of Twins alumni, front office representatives and team historians. In total, more than 100,000 votes were cast by the fans at

The 18-man All-Metrodome Team, which will be officially introduced as part of the special on-field ceremony following the Twins final regular season home game Sunday, October 4 versus the Kansas City Royals, is as follows:


Tom Kelly

o Managed Twins to ’87 and ’91 World Series titles


Bert Blyleven

o Starting pitcher on 1987 World Championship team, posted a record of 3-1 in the 1987 postseason, winning Game 2 in the World Series.

Brad Radke

o Most wins (85), strikeouts (839), and innings pitched (1309.1) in Metrodome history, 1998 All-Star won 20 games in 1997.

Johan Santana

o Tied for third most wins in Dome history (46) and second-most strikeouts (754), three-time All-Star won two Cy-Young Awards in 2004 and 2006…Won 17 consecutive games in the Dome from 2005-2007.

Frank Viola

o Second most wins in Dome history (59) and innings pitched (934.0)…went 3-1 in 1987 postseason, winning Games 1 and 7 of the 1987 World Series.


Rick Aguilera

o Closer on 1991 World Championship team, saved 122 games in the Metrodome, most in building’s history.

Joe Nathan

o Ranks second for saves in Dome history…was the closer on two Twins division winning teams in 2004 and 2006.


Joe Mauer

o Won two batting titles in 2006 and 2008…came into the season with a .312 career batting average in the Dome.


Kent Hrbek

o First baseman on two World Championship teams (1987 & 1991), hit 156 home runs at the Dome, the most in Dome history.

Justin Morneau

o 2006 American League MVP…sixth most home runs in park history (by all-star break 2009)…First baseman for three division championship teams.


Chuck Knoblauch

o 1991 Rookie of the Year batted .341 in 1996 and batted .321 in Dome from 1991-96.


Greg Gagne

o Was the shortstop on both 1987 and 1991 World Championship teams…did not commit an error in 12 postseason games at the Metrodome.


Gary Gaetti

o Started at third base and went 4-for-4 with two home runs in the first ever game at the Metrodome…was the third baseman on the 1987 World Championship team.


Tom Brunansky

o Hit .300 with 19 home runs at the Metrodome during the 1987 World Championship season.

Dan Gladden

o Was a member of the 1987 and 1991 World Championship teams….went 3-for-5 and scored the winning run in the 10th inning of Game 7 in 1991 World Series vs. Atlanta.

Torii Hunter

o Helped the Twins to four division titles and won seven gold gloves with the Twins…hit .324 in 10 playoff games at the Metrodome.

Kirby Puckett

o Was a member of the 1987 and 1991 World Championship teams…his .344 career average, 239 doubles, 626 runs and 38 triples are the most in Metrodome history…hit game winning home run in Game 6 of the 1991 World Series off Charlie Leibrandt.


Paul Molitor

o Played in 219 games at the Metrodome as a member of the Minnesota Twins (1996-98)…in those 219 games, he batted .327 with 53 doubles, nine triples, 11 home runs and 142 rbi.

Created by an oversight committee featuring Twins historians Tom Mee, Dave Mona and Stew Thornley, the Twins All-Metrodome Team ballot included the names of 66 players and three managers who anchored the Twins teams throughout the Dome era. Each of the three voting groups (fans, media and veteran’s committee) counted one-third toward the final balloting results with the top vote getter at M, 1B, 2B, 3B, SS, C and DH; the top three vote getters at OF and SP; and the top two vote getters at RP automatically named to the team. The All-Metrodome Team oversight committee reserved the right to name up to three additional players to the final All-Metrodome Team roster based on overall vote totals. Players added by the oversight committee included Blyleven, Morneau and Brunansky.

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.