Franken To Host Hot Dish-Off Again

Wednesday, April 10th, 2013 at 8:01 am

On Wednesday, April 10, U.S. Sen. Al Franken (D-Minn.) will host his third annual competition to determine which member of the Minnesota Congresssional delegation makes the best hotdish casserole. He will be joined by Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Reps. Collin Peterson (D-Minn.), Betty McCollum (D-Minn.), Michele Bachmann (R-Minn.), Keith Ellison (D-Minn.), Tim Walz (D-Minn.), Eric Paulsen (R-Minn.), and Rick Nolan (D-Minn.).

“I’m very excited about hosting another Hot Dish-Off tomorrow,” said Sen. Franken. “I’m looking forward to defending my title as the Minnesota delegation’s hotdish champion and spending some quality time with the other members of the Minnesota delegation.”

In 2011, Sen. Franken started the friendly competition as a way to bring the delegation together to put partisanship aside and celebrate a Minnesota culinary tradition. Each member will provide a hotdish—traditional Minnesota fare, similar to a casserole—which will be judged by former Congressmen Vin Weber (R-Minn.) and Gerry Sikorski (D-Minn.). Last year, Sen. Franken’s “Mom’s Mahnomin Madness Hotdish” and former Rep. Chip Cravaack’s (R-Minn.) “Minnesota Wild Strata Hotdish” tied for first place. Sen. Klobuchar took top honors in 2011 with her “Taconite Tater-Tot Hotdish.”

Recipes of all of the entries will be posted on Senator Franken’s website at

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.