New Law Prohibits Wisconsin Teens From Driving, Using Cell Phones
A new law in Wisconsin will ban many teen drivers from talking on their cell phones while driving. The law will take effect November 1 and will prohibit motorists with a probationary license from using a cell phone. The law even bans hands-free devices.
Statistics show 11 percent of teen drivers who were in a fatal accident were distracted.
Minnesota teens with provisional licenses who travel to Wisconsin will also have to obey the law. Drivers with provisional licenses are typically between the ages of 16 and 19.
First-time offenders will get a ticket ranging between $20 and $40 dollars. If caught a second time in the same year, the rate jumps between $50 and $100.