Eight Northwestern Wisconsin Communities To Get Disaster Assistance Funding For 2011 Storms

Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 at 1:59 pm

Eight Northwestern Wisconsin communities will soon receive a total of $141,058 in disaster assistance funding to help offset emergency response and debris clean up costs associated with the severe weather that hit the area last summer, Senator Bob Jauch said today.

Following the historic 2011 storms that destroyed 136,000 acres of trees, 31 northern communities filed claims for an estimated $2.1 million in clean up costs. The Wisconsin Disaster Relief Fund provides grants up to 70% of certain costs associated with storm damage.

Last summer the disaster fund faced a $1 million deficit and Jauch worked with Governor Walker to secure an additional $1 million to ensure that adequate funding would be available.

During the past several months 23 northern communities have received a total of $715,000 in state assistance.

This latest round of reimbursements will include:

Burnett County Town of Siren for $676.88

Burnett County Town of Swiss for $40,597.22

Douglas County Town of Bennett for $6514.62

Douglas County Town of Dairyland for $3204.26 (July 1st Storm)

Douglas County Town of Dairyland for $24,152.77 (August 1st Storm)

Douglas County Town of Highland for $3109.30

Douglas County Town of Oakland for $7959.73

Washburn County Town of Chicog for $46,169.97

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.