East Central Drug Task Force To Begin Operating In January

Wednesday, December 7th, 2011 at 7:43 am

The formation of the East Central Drug and Violent Offender Task Force, was made official on Thursday December 1, 2011, when the Sheriff’s of Chisago, Isanti, and Pine Counties held the first public meeting and voted to adopt creation of the Task Force.  The Task force will consist of investigators from each of the three member counties, and will focus on apprehending violent drug offenders.  Although there has been informal cooperation between the counties in the past, the formation of the Task Force allows greater flexibility in pursuing offenders across county lines and for the sharing of manpower and resources.

The Task Force is a formal organization formed and governed by a Joint Powers Agreement which was ratified by each of the three counties Board of Commissioners.  A grant award of $100,000.00 from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety will help fund operations, which will begin in January of 2012.

Each of the three members Sheriff’s holds a position on the Task Force Board of Directors as follows: Chairman; Sheriff Duncan, Chisago County.  Vice Chairman; Sheriff Monson, Isanti County.  Secretary/Treasurer; Sheriff Cole, Pine County.  The Isanti County Attorney’s Office will act as the legal advisor and the Pine County Auditor’s Office will serve as the fiscal agent.

Pictured in the attached photo are left to right: Sheriff Robin Cole, Pine County; Sheriff Rick Duncan, Chisago County; Sheriff Russ Monson, Isanti County.

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.