Pine City’s One-Act Play Takes Second In Section 4A Festival

Monday, February 7th, 2011 at 11:07 am

Following the Section 4A One-Act Play Festival at St. Paul Harding this
past Saturday, the Pine City thespians showcased a mixture of emotions.
Their 2nd place finish was an accomplishment indeed – the best finish in
school history – but they couldn’t help but be a bit disappointed: the
local actors ended the day only a single point behind the Section
Champions and state qualifiers St. Paul Academy. The local production, a
touching children’s play entitled “The Arkansaw Bear,” was edged by Edward
Albee’s absurdist classic, “The Sandbox.” Rush City, which bested Pine
City for the Sub-Section Championship last week with their production of
“Waiting for Godot,” placed sixth.

“This is a proud moment for the Pine City theater program and for the Pine
City community as a whole. These students are a force to be reckoned
with; they have a lot of which to be proud,” said director Brad Mariska.

The judges at Saturday’s festival were impressed with the play and the
students’ execution of a challenging script and acting style. One judge
called the production “powerful,” and complimented the actors for
“capturing the mood beautifully.” All one-act festivals are adjudicated
by a panel of three theater critics. Saturday’s festival included judges
from Buffalo, Delano, and Owatonna.

This was Pine City’s fourth consecutive trip to the Section Festival, a
remarkable streak that began in 2008 with the one-act play “A Thousand
Cranes.” Pine City also qualified in 2009 with “All in the Timing” and
last year’s “The Exonerated.”

This year’s cast and crew included strong senior leadership from Aaron
Nisley, Emma Briski, Josh Palmer, Taylor Hanson, and Ariel Steele; juniors
Jazz Dyksman, Jorie Williamson, and Rachel Sparling; sophomore Jacob
White; and freshmen Ashlee Martini, Lindsey Kline, and Anthony Olson.

Costumes were provided by JoLynn Howard, Krista Martin, Pat Martin, and
several parents. Sets and props were constructed and donated by Jay
Schueller, Laura Kotsmith, Dave Hill, and parents.

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.