Pine & Chisago Co. Farmers Eligible for Disaster Funding

Wednesday, September 30th, 2009 at 11:03 am

Washington, D.C. – U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar announced that seven counties in Minnesota are eligible to receive disaster funding as part of the 2008 Farm Bill.  These funds will provide assistance to Minnesota farmers who have been struggling with drought conditions since March.  Farmers in the following counties are eligible: Carleton, Pine, Chisago, Washington, Wabasha, Goodhue, and Winona.

“This funding will help many communities that are still feeling the effects of the drought that occurred earlier this year,” said Klobuchar.  “The 2008 Farm Bill was a critical step in getting farmers access to emergency funding.  Farmers are invaluable in Minnesota, and I will continue to work to get them the resources they need to be successful.”

The funding is coming through the Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans (EM) and the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Program (SURE) that was approved as part of the Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008, informally known as the 2008 Farm Bill.

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.