Burning Restriction Lifted for Some Central MN Counties

Tuesday, May 12th, 2009 at 6:19 am

Due to the greening of vegetation and recent rainfalls, the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) lifted burning restrictions for some central Minnesota counties Monday.

People residing in Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Isanti, Sherburne, Stearns, Washington and Wright counties may request a permit to burn from local forestry offices or from volunteer fire wardens. Residents in counties where online permits are available can also purchase a $5 permit that is valid for the remainder of this calendar year.

Douglas, Grant, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Stevens and Todd counties will have burning restrictions lifted effective at 8 a.m. on Monday, May 18.

While restrictions will be removed for these 17 counties within the next week, municipalities and cities may decide to lift restrictions later. People under this type of jurisdiction should talk with local authorities to find out when burning permits will be available.

“While paper permits are available statewide, the purchase price of an online permit, where available, might be less expensive than the time and gas spent obtaining a permit from local authorities,” said Larry Himanga, fire prevention coordinator. He added that permits are good for only three days and then must be renewed if burning does not take place.

Counties to the north of those listed above will remain under burning restrictions until enough new vegetation appears in fields and on trees. Until that time, campfires will be allowed, if kept to no more than three feet by three feet in size. Other burning will not be allowed until further notification.

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.