Funds for Local Emergency Food and Shelter Programs

Monday, December 22nd, 2008 at 6:44 am

Washington, D.C. – As Minnesota homeless shelters fill up and the supplies of food banks dwindle, U.S. Senator Amy Klobuchar announced Friday that Minnesota will receive $3,170,902 for emergency food and shelter programs. Allocated by the Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), the funds assist people dealing with non-disaster related emergencies. The grant will help feed and house Minnesotans and assist those struggling to make rent, mortgage and utility payments during the down economy.

“The weak economy makes it all the more important to have a strong safety net,” said Klobuchar. “This is a time when family budgets are getting tighter, unemployment is rising and temperatures are falling. Families who are victims of this economy need help to see them through these tough times.”

Minnesota’s unemployment rate rose to 6.4 percent in November. Over 30,000 jobs in Minnesota have been lost in the past year. The Center on Responsible Lending projects that, due to the number of foreclosures in Minnesota, 33,100 children could be left homeless.

Administered through a national board of volunteer agencies and chaired by FEMA, the Emergency Food and Shelter (EFS) program distributes funds to social service agencies. The allotted funding can be used to supplement and expand ongoing efforts to provide shelter, food, and supportive services for homeless individuals with the goal of moving from temporary shelter to permanent homes.

The $3,170,902 was appropriated for the 2009 Fiscal Year through the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act, named after Minnesota Congressman Bruce Vento, who died in 2000.

Below please find the county breakdown for the EFS funds.
Breakdown by County

Pine County – $29,056

Isanti County – $35,606

Chisago County – $44,811

Kanabec County – $19,573

Mille Lacs County – $26,527

St. Cloud City/Benton, Sherburne, Stearns Counties – $214,014
Aitkin County – $14,844
Becker County – $27,286
Beltrami County – $34,847
Blue Earth County – $39,197
Carlton County – $28,146
Cass County – $29,031
Clay County – $28,854
Clearwater County – $10,722
Cottonwood County – $8,244
Crow Wing County – $52,928
Hennepin County – $766,762
Hubbard County – $17,196
Itasca County – $43,040
Koochiching County – $11,987
Le Sueur County – $25,288
Marshall County – $10,368
Meeker County -$20,155
Morrison County – $31,357
Nobles County – $10,899
Pennington County – $15,704
Ramsey County – $336,939
St. Louis County – $158,051
Todd County – $18,941
Wadena County – $12,998
Winona County – $32,875
State Set-Aside Committee, MN – $1,014,656
Minnesota Total – 3,170,902

Comment on this Story

Join the conversation! All fields are required, but your email address will never be published or shared. Your comment will be held for moderation before posting.